Reflections on 8/28

The day began early for many of us who went to the 8/28 Restoring Honor Rally.  When my mother and I arrived to save seats for the rest of our group there were already tens of thousands camped out in the Mall.  Here are a few photos taken at 6:30 a.m.

People could not have been more polite during the day.  Everyone shared space, conversation, and even food with one another.  Not once did I hear someone complain about the heat, the crowd, anything.  I felt safe that our little one was going to be at the rally.  In fact so many people asked to take her picture I am sure she felt as if she was the main attraction for the day.

When the music began at 9:59 a.m. to signal the beginning of the Rally a flock of geese flew directly over the Mall from the Washington Monument to the Lincoln Memorial in a perfect “v” formation.  While some may mock it was a consensus among all of us in the crowd that it was definitely God’s version of a flyover.

So many times during the day I found myself on the verge of tears.  The day was definitely full of meaning not just because I believe in the cause, but because I was standing with other men, women, and families that share the same principles that our family holds so dear.  It was as if God was opening up the skies to all of us and simply saying: “See!  I told you all there are other people just like you.”

Leave a Reply

