The Working Mom Rant: Part Two

So I’m slowly coming to the realization that either I am insanely jealous of those “stay at home” moms or I am just annoyed by their assumption that their days are of uber-importance in comparison to the rest of the world.

Let’s revisit the Facebook updates.  On Monday, I ranted about the “so thankful for her husband” statuses.  While I’m sure that these are most likely a nice way to say “honey I love you” to the man in their life I’m wondering why they just can’t text their honey; after all, it takes just as long to text as it does to update a Facebook status right?  Why do you need to include the world in everything you do — this is totally a topic for another discussion.  Also, I am thinking that it might have been a little rash to say that they are neglecting their children when updating such statuses.  Maybe they are texting from the bathroom – like us working, multi-tasking moms so often do – and don’t deny it people!  I know you all do it!  🙂

So here’s the second part of what I have dubbed the “Working Mom Rant.” 

On the subject of housework and cooking-

Attention stay at homes: I do not care what you are fixing for dinner, or that your house is messy.  Actually it irritates me that you state on Facebook that your house is a mess.  I understand that we are all human, but if you are dedicating every hour of every day to your home and family don’t you think your house should make Martha Stewart want to crawl into a corner in the fetal position and cry to herself?  I mean seriously – I want to see your Facebook statuses to say the following:

“_____ just finished cleaning the molding in the hallway with a q-tip.  Thanks honey for allowing me to stay at home with the kids while you work hard to bring home the bacon.” 

Or how about this one?

“_______ just finished reorganizing every family member’s fall wardrobe by color and fabric texture.”

Or better yet…

“___________ just finished preparing a four course dinner for her family and twenty jars of jam for her friends and neighbors.”

Now those are accomplishments!

Maybe I’m being a little harsh, but if you are going to “dedicate” your life to staying at home I think you should do it wholeheartedly.  Actually I don’t think I’m being a little harsh I think I’m looking at things with the perspective of someone who does not appreciate it when someone who spends their “work week” at home and continues to whine about their dirty house to the masses when I’m spending my “work week” at work and I still manage to keep my house clean.  And no I don’t think you deserve a cookie for keeping it clean when it is your job – for that I don’t think I deserve a cookie either because it is my job.  How about you shut up and then I’ll stop being annoyed?

Do I think I could stay at home and do a darn good job?  Absolutely.  Do I think that most stay at home moms could probably do a decent job in corporate America?  Sure.  Do I think that there are some stay at home moms have a stick up their butts when it comes to working moms?  Um…yes.  Why?  I don’t know.  Anyone have any ideas?  I’m sure this is going to be a topic of conversation in my blog from time to time for a while.

In the meantime, don’t expect me to “like” your status when you’re being an idiot.

Leave a Reply

