Seriously Mr. President?

Okay, so a while back (even though I didn’t post it) I made the decision that I was not going to talk about politics on my blog.  Well, let’s just say I made a mistake.  Being politically informed is a great deal of who I am so why withhold that part of myself for the sake of making sure a few people are not offended?  If anything I think part of my blog should be to educate those who may not be as psychotically glued to media as I am.

So at a campaign fundraiser on Saturday, our President uttered this lovely quote:

“Part of the reason that our politics seems so tough right now and facts and science and argument does not seem to be winning the day all the time is because we’re hardwired not to always think clearly when we’re scared.  And the country’s scared.”

Okay, so what you’re telling me Mr. President is that because a majority of Americans now have realized that you and your Congressional counterparts are leading us down the yellow-brick road of economic disaster that we must not be thinking clearly?   Did you think that the American people were never going to connect that dots that out of control spending would eventually lead to out of control taxes and a pending economic collapse?

I know it must be difficult for your Harvard educated brain to understand that there are some of us in “flyover country” who actually know how to read, and our ability to understand how the world works and decide that voting for you is the wrong direction is not because we are scared out of our minds.  But let’s look at this a little further…

Am I scared?  Yes!  I’m scared of waking up in a state where I can no longer obtain objective healthcare for myself and my family.  I’m scared of a country where there is no longer freedom of debate on the airwaves and the web.  I’m scared of a country where it doesn’t matter how much or how hard I work I will never have the opportunities to rise above my current class.  I’m scared that we will not  hand over a better world to my child.  I’m scared of a world where our currency has been so devalued that I can no longer afford basic necessities.  I’m scared of a country where I can no longer freely practice my faith.  To be honest Mr. President, I’m scared that when there is a victory for Conservatives in America this November that you will not have the maturity to act like Clinton and Bush and give the people the right to govern themselves.  I’m not looking forward to “Dancing with the Czars” and the unending Executive Orders as retaliation for a Congressional shift.  So really what I’m saying Mr. President is not that I’m scared of the world ending, I’m scared of your radical agenda and the effects it will have on our great nation when you don’t get your way.

Maybe the word you should have been using instead of “scared” is “informed.”  Americans are not running scared Mr. President; we are informed.  Informed about your radical agenda.  Informed about our current economic status.  Informed about what you have done to wreck our healthcare delivery system and the insurance industry.  Informed about how you plan to make our children pay for the prosperity of our capitalist system.  We are informed Mr. President, and this year we are going to vote as such.

Now if you will excuse me I need to go finish my basement bunker…or at least that is what you assume I am doing.  🙂

Leave a Reply

