Counterfeit Kit Challenge

Hi All!

On a recent episode of Paperclipping Roundtable, guest Lain Ehmann introduced me to the Counterfeit Kit Challenge Blog.  Now I know I’ve talked a bit about savvy shopping, but I have a serious weakness when it comes to papercrafting supplies.  It is so wonderful to have everything packaged, color coordinated, and shipped to your door.  I’m not going to deny it, I belong to a scrapbooking kit club (Scarlet Lime) and I’m really happy when I get that generated notice that they have sent me a package!

But even though I’m loving the Scarlet Lime I must confess there are so many other kit clubs that I think are amazing, and sadly I cannot afford them all.  Enter the Counterfeit Kit Challenge Blog – they had the idea to take inspiration from scrapbook kit clubs and pull together supplies from you own stash.  Okay, the idea is not rocket science, and I’m kind of embarrassed to admit that I didn’t really think of it, but I had to try it.

This is the Wildflower add-on kit from Studio Calico.

So that was the inspiration for my kit.  I looked through my stash to create a similar kit, and here is what I came up with…

I loved this challenge!  I was able to create fun embellishments, I used my stash, and I was inspired to create some fun layouts.  Here are the layout results.

I think this is the most fun I have had using my stash in a while.  Maybe it means that I’m growing as a scrapper, but sometimes I get bored with new product and want to mix things up.  This was a really fun exercise so look for more of these in the future!  Have a fun weekend!

7 thoughts on “Counterfeit Kit Challenge

  1. Great kit! You did a fantastic job pulling and making embellishments. I love all the flowers. Cute cute cute layouts!

  2. Love the lace ribbon for the tulle flower!!!!!! What a great idea–I am not sure I have tulle, but am considering putting together this kit and wasn’t sure what I could do if I couldn’t find tulle in my stash–will steal this idea for sure if I don’t have any! 🙂 TFS!

Leave a Reply

