Art Journaling: When Words Just Aren’t Enough

I’m going to level with you: I abhor keeping a journal.  I don’t know what it is about journaling that bugs me.  There are millions of people who keep journals successfully all of their lives; I am not one of them.  Using tools like Oh Life and Evernote to “psuedo-journal” but they are a far cry from anything that I would deem as authentic.

So what is a girl to do with a lot of feelings and no real urge to write them down?  Well for a long time I didn’t really know the answer to this question, but over the course of the past six months I have discovered art journaling.  What is art journaling you ask?  Simply put, art journaling takes visual images and combines them with your written words to express a unique feeling or thought.  For me, art journaling is a creative way to express myself and unwind at the same time.

I have taken a few different approaches to art journaling.  First, I have my general art journal.  At this point it is an altered book where I doodle and experiment with various techniques.  Combined with journaling, this book has become a great outlet.

The second form of art journaling I have been working through involves combining my she art girls and written words into a combined album.  This was a technique I used during Michael’s business trip to India.  This journal was a bit more involved than the altered book, but I had a great deal more free time with him away and let’s be honest…I needed to occupy my time.

What I love about this project is that I was able to continue to work through my artistic process in developing my she art and create an art journal that I will keep as a record of Michael’s trip.

So if you’re looking for a fun way to journal that does not require writing long prose then I suggest taking a crack at art journaling.  You just may find your inner artist…

Leave a Reply

