Scrappy Monday: Package Recycle Challenge

Recently I have been seen a number of package recycling going on.  I’m not sure why all of a sudden there are so  many people talking about it because it seems like scrapbookers have been recycling their packaging since the dawn of the industry…after all, isn’t that what scrapbooking was originally?  Maybe one of the reasons for the resurgence has to do with the overall cuteness of packaging.  It does seem that manufacturers such as Prima and Studio Calico are making their packaging specifically to be used in craft projects.

Okay, that is enough of my thoughts on packaging; let’s get to the actual scrapping…

I used some Jillibean Soup products on this layout including the negative sheet of cardboard letters for a background and the packaging from a corrugated shapes container.

I am in no way claiming credit for this layout.  I think that every scrapbooker who has one of these corrugated shape packages has used it for a photo mat.  But one thing I will say is that the effect is really cute on a close photo like the one I used.  If you are feeling spunky you could even add some embellishments or glitter into the “bubble” before you seal it with adhesive.

The second “recycle challenge” I completed involved some packaging from Studio Calico.  I took the traditional route here and used the packages as photo mats.  I added some ink to grunge them up.

Again, these projects are not earth shattering, but they are another fun and cheap way to stretch your supplies.

Happy Crafting!

**And if you like the products that I used here they all came from my March Scarlet Lime Kit.

Leave a Reply

