Free Scrapbooking Resources

It’s always good to get something for free right?  Scrapbooking can be expensive.  With a high percentage of items priced below $10 it is a hobby full of impulse buys that can add up to serious money.  Learning techniques can also be costly, but you can get something for nothing.  Here are some great (FREE) resources.

1.  Two Peas in a Bucket: Sign up for a free account and access the message boards, get fun e-mail updates, and take free classes.  They have some great experts who share lots of tips and tricks to add to you scrapbooking, cardmaking, and stamping bag of tricks.  You cannot go wrong learning from the Garden Girls.  Shimelle Laine is currently teaching a year long series on scrapping 4×6 photos.

2.  Persnickety Prints:  For a simple “Facebook Shout Out” you can get free digital kits!  While I am not a huge digital scrapbooker I do enjoy getting the free kits to print out and use in some hybrid work.  Sign up to get their e-mail updates and check out their blog.  It is the fastest way to know when the free digi kits are available!

3.  Christy Tomlinson & The Scarlet Lime:  I have blogged about Christy and the Scarlet Lime’s kits, products, and art classes.  I love the She Art course I finished in March, and I am psyched for Christy’s upcoming class on Art Journaling.  Christy shares a lot of information for free on her blog.  If you are looking for a fun ideas about mixed media and different ways to use your art supplies I encourage you to check out her blog.  The Scarlet Lime blog also has some great material (all free) from the members of the Scarlet Lime design team which includes one of my favorite scrappy people: May Flaum.

4.  Live with Prima: I love Prima products, but something else I love about Prima are the free video broadcasts put on by members of their design team.  The ideas shared during these shows are so inspiring!

5.  Ella Publishing: I’m not sure if I’ve shared my love of all things Ella on the blog before, so here goes.  Ella publishes e-books for the paper arts.  The average cost of an e-book is around $5.99, and they are well worth it.  I view them on my iPad and I love how crisp everything looks.  But Chrissy, that isn’t a free resource.  You’re right – BUT they do have a free sample e-book you can download that highlights some of their most popular e-books.  On top of that, the Ella Blog is a fantastic resource for tips, tricks, and fun.  This spring Ella will be hosting a Spring Training event.  While a portion is a paid event there are also a number of ways you can participate for free.

Happy Scrapping!

Leave a Reply

