Ella Spring Training: Day Four

Hi All!

First off, I must apologize for the pause in blogging this week.  As you know there have been some nasty storms throughout the south and midwest which knocked out our power for a few days.  Fortunately things are getting back to normal and so I’m back in spring training mode.

For those of you who follow the blog closely – I know I have skipped day three of spring training.  I’m hopeful to give you a snapshot of that day a little later on.  Day three covered photography with your children so I’m waiting for a good time to try that one but it has to be 1. not raining, 2. have a happy child, and 3. have some decent light.  So far the stars are not aligning for that challenge.

Nevertheless I have moved on to Day 4: Distressing and Technique with Tammy Tutterow.  I loved Tammy’s ideas for how to distress letters and products that you do not like.  I know this isn’t a new idea, but sometimes you just need to be reminded by a scrapbook master on how to effectively change items and that it is totally okay to play and get messy.

So here’s what I did:

I started with a red letter from Pink Paislee.  I love the shape of these letters, but I hate the way they look.  I’m sure some people love them, but it just doesn’t work for me.

I sanded it down and sprayed it with some Jack Frost Glimmer Mist.  Then I inked part of it with Vintage Photo Distress Stain and Faded Jeans Distress Stain.  I hit it all again with another light coat of Jack Frost and then coated the whole thing in Glossy Accents.  For the tag I rubbed a Broken China Distress Ink pad over the whole thing and then used the Faded Jeans Stain over the edges.  I sprayed half of the tag with some more Jack Frost (I think it is my favorite Glimmer Mist.)  For a little dimension I adhered some tissue tape and then put a light coat of stain over it.

I’m very happy with this tag.  I’m going to be using it in a upcoming layout all about Maddy’s favorite color…any guess as to what it is?

Happy Crafting!

One thought on “Ella Spring Training: Day Four

  1. I love the way that letter turned out! Don’t you just love the effect the Glossy Accents gives it?
    The Pink Paislee letter you used is the same as the ones I used. They are perfect for sanding and inking! I grab packs of them every time I see them!

Leave a Reply

